By the Numbers

What Hotel Case Goods Cost, and Why Three Quotes Never Match

For owners setting 2027 capex and PIP budgets: why case goods quotes for the same rooms land so far apart, how to put them on the same basis, and the questions to ask every bidder.

 ·  9 min read  ·  Nerval FF&E

Hotel king guestroom with a full case goods package: headboard, nightstand, dresser, desk and luggage bench
Illustrative image: a full guestroom case goods package.

Somewhere on the cheapest case goods quote in your inbox is a line that reads "Headboards: by others." Others, it turns out, means you.

That one line explains a lot about why three quotes for the same 100 rooms can land so far apart. Hotel case goods cost what the package in front of you costs, and each bidder drew that package differently. Some priced the furniture at the factory door; some priced it in your rooms. Some included the headboard.

This post shows why the published per-room numbers don't agree, what actually moves a quote, and how to level three bids in one afternoon. It ends with a checklist you can take into the meeting.

What hotel case goods cost, according to the internet

Start where most owners start: a search. You'll find confident per-room numbers, and none of them match.

What you'll find if you search "hotel furniture cost per room" (September 2026)
What the page calls it Tier Range per room What it seems to include
"Room furniture" (a factory price list) Budget (2–3 star) $1,250–3,300 Room furniture incl. beds, seating, desks, wardrobes; basis not stated
"Furniture" (a manufacturer's 2026 cost guide) Midscale $4,200–5,600 Furniture (scope not stated)
"FF&E" (a contractor's 2026 guide) Mid-scale $8,000–15,000 All furniture, fixtures and equipment
"FF&E" (a 2026 budget framework) Midscale $12,000–25,000 All FF&E, product cost only (the guide adds freight, duty and installation on top)

Source: vendor-published guides found on page one of Google, September 2026. Only one cites a source for its furniture or FF&E figures, and we couldn't trace those to HVS. Shown to illustrate the scope problem, not as benchmarks.

For the same "midscale" label, the midpoints differ by nearly four times. Nobody here is necessarily wrong. They're measuring different things: guestroom furniture versus all FF&E, with or without freight and installation, one guide's idea of "midscale" versus another's.

The independent sources don't settle it either. The HVS 2026 U.S. Hotel Development Cost Survey puts the median development cost of a select-service hotel, across 2025 projects, at $200,000 a room. That's useful for scale, since case goods are one slice of it. For the size of that slice, HVS points you elsewhere:

"Construction and furniture, fixtures, and equipment (FF&E) design and procurement firms are the best sources for obtaining hard costs and FF&E costs for a specific hotel project." (HVS, July 2026)

In other words, the number lives in the quotes. So the skill that matters is reading them.

Five things that move a case goods quote

Case goods are the hard, non-upholstered furniture in a room: headboard, night tables, dresser or TV unit, desk, wardrobe or open closet, luggage bench. Here's what changes the number, roughly in order of how often it catches owners out.

  1. The package. Which pieces, how many, for which room types? A king room and a double-queen room carry different headboards and night-table counts, so the room mix matters. Watch for the pieces that drift in and out: headboards, wardrobes versus open closets, bed bases, and vanities. Vanities often sit on a separate cabinetry line and sometimes appear in only one bid.
  2. The spec. Thermally fused laminate (TFL) is the workhorse. High-pressure laminate (HPL) goes on desk and vanity tops that take a beating. Wood veneer is the upscale upgrade. Below the surface: the core, the edgebanding, the drawer box and the glides. Two dressers that look identical in a rendering can be very different dressers after a few years of housekeeping.
  3. The basis. This is where the finish line is. An ex-works (EXW) price stops at the factory door, and everything after that is yours. An FOB price goes one step further: the goods loaded on the ship at the origin port. A landed price includes getting them to you. An installed price ends with the piece in the room. Freight has its own traps, which we covered in what's hidden in an FF&E logistics quote.
  4. Duty. The fastest-moving line in 2026. More on it below.
  5. Site services. Receiving, storage, delivery to the floor, installation, removing packaging and old furniture, attic stock (spare pieces for future damage). Each is small. Together they're the difference between a quote and a budget.
Double-queen hotel room with two headboards sharing one night table
A double-queen room changes the headboard and night-table count. AmericInn by Wyndham Crookston, Crookston, MN.

Duty in 2026: ask what was assumed, and when

As of September 2026, US duty on imported furniture has changed more than once this year. On 20 February 2026 the Supreme Court struck down the 2025 emergency (IEEPA) tariffs. A temporary tariff filled the gap until 24 July, when new Section 301 tariffs from USTR took effect on goods from about 60 economies. Looking at hotel construction costs, HVS's 2026 survey names tariff policy as "the primary catalyst behind renewed cost pressure."

What that means for your quotes: the rate depends on where the goods are made, and a quote priced in June may rest on a different duty regime from one priced in September. Vanities and cabinets also carry their own US duty, currently scheduled to rise on 1 January 2027, which is one more reason they're often quoted separately.

You don't need to become a customs expert. You need three answers from every bidder: what duty rate did you assume, for which country of origin, and on what date? Duty is usually calculated on the goods' value before freight; your customs broker will confirm how it applies to your order. In Canada, too, the rate depends on origin and trade agreements.

A quote without its duty assumption is a quote with an expiry date you can't see.

Worked example: levelling three quotes for a 100-key select-service PIP

Take a typical 100-key select-service hotel doing a guestroom case goods PIP (the brand's required renovation list): 60 king rooms, 40 double-queens. Three bidders respond.

The numbers below are illustrative index figures, not prices. Quote A's headline is set to 100 and everything else is relative to it. Every adjustment is an assumption we made to show the mechanics. Where we add duty (Quote A only), it's one assumed figure. B and C are taken at their own duty assumptions, which is exactly what the checklist asks you to confirm.

  • Quote A is FOB origin port (loaded on the ship, nothing after that), TFL throughout, headboards "by others".
  • Quote B includes headboards and duty, delivered to port-city warehouse. Installation not included.
  • Quote C includes everything delivered to site, adds vanities, and specifies veneer on the headboards and tops. Installation not included.
Levelling three case goods quotes to the same scope, landed and installed (index, Quote A headline = 100)
Line Quote A Quote B Quote C
Headline as quoted 100 128 150
Headboards (A: "by others") +14 incl. incl.
Vanities (only C quoted them; moved to their own line) — — −17
Ocean and inland freight +9 +3 (inland only) incl.
Duty and brokerage +12 incl. incl.
Receiving and storage +4 incl. +4
Installation and debris removal +10 +10 +10
Attic stock +2 +2 incl.
Same scope, landed, installed 151 143 147

Source: illustrative. All figures are assumptions for this example, not market prices and not Nerval prices.

At the headline, C looked 50% more expensive than A. Levelled, A is the most expensive of the three, B is the least, and the whole spread is 8 points, about 6%. The 4 points left between B and C are a spec choice: C is veneer, B is TFL. That's now a decision you can make on purpose, instead of a surprise you discover in the change orders.

It doesn't always go this way. Sometimes the low quote really is the low quote. Levelling is how you find out which one you're holding. And if the vanities matter to the PIP, get them priced from every bidder on their own line.

Three illustrative case goods quotes, headline versus levelled Quote A: headline index 100, levelled to 151. Quote B: headline index 128, levelled to 143. Quote C: headline index 150, levelled to 147. Index values are illustrative, not market or Nerval prices. 100 151 Quote A 128 143 Quote B 150 147 Quote C Headline as quoted Same scope, landed, installed Index (Quote A headline = 100) Illustrative index, not market or Nerval prices
Bar chart: three illustrative case goods quotes at headline and after levelling to the same scope, landed and installed.

The bid-levelling checklist: questions for every bidder

Send these with the RFQ (the request for quotation), or take them into the meeting. Same questions, every bidder, in writing.

Hotel dresser and TV unit, desk and side table in a guestroom case goods package
Dresser/TV unit, desk and side table: three of the lines to check on every quote. AmericInn by Wyndham Crookston, Crookston, MN.
  • check_circle Scope: List every piece, per room type, with quantities. What is marked "by others" or excluded?
  • check_circle Spec: Surface (TFL, HPL, veneer), core, edgebanding, drawer box and glides, top material. Is this the brand's approved spec, or an "equal"?
  • check_circle Basis: Is this price at the factory door (EXW), loaded at the origin port (FOB), delivered to site, or installed?
  • check_circle Freight: Are ocean and inland freight both included? Is the number fixed or an estimate?
  • check_circle Duty: What duty rate did you assume, for which country of origin, and on what date? Are brokerage and customs fees included?
  • check_circle Site services: Who receives, stores and delivers to the floor? Is installation included? Packaging and old-furniture removal?
  • check_circle Attic stock: How many spare pieces, and of what?
  • check_circle Lead time: From what event (deposit, shop drawing approval) to what event (shipped, on site)?
  • check_circle Warranty: How long, and what does it cover?
  • check_circle Validity: How long does this price hold, and what can change it?

For where this fits in the wider buying process, see our hotel FF&E planning and procurement guide.

Where Nerval fits

We're one of the firms that write those quotes, so here's how we answer most of that checklist.

Our hotel case goods are made in our own global production facility, where Nerval employees run quality control on the ground and oversee container loading. We're an approved vendor for 18 hotel brands, and case goods is approved scope with IHG, Wyndham and Choice (see the brands we build to). We're also an endorsed supplier for Best Western in Canada.

Send us your brand, room count and PIP, and your account executive comes back with a line-item quote, so every piece is listed. Freight is quoted all-in, ocean plus inland. Delivery and installation are available. Case goods carry a 10-year limited warranty, and overseas lead time is 12–14 weeks from order to delivery; your account executive will confirm it for your project.

Ask us every question on the checklist above. That's what it's for.

FAQ

Hotel Case Goods Cost, Answered

How much do hotel case goods cost per room?

There is no reliable single figure. We found no current, open benchmark for guestroom case goods per key, and vendor-published furniture ranges run from about $1,250 a room at the budget tier to $5,600 at midscale, because they include different pieces and costs. The accurate answer comes from line-item quotes for your brand, room mix and PIP, levelled to the same scope, landed and installed.

Why are my hotel FF&E quotes so different?

Usually because they price different things. One quote may exclude headboards or installation, another may include vanities, and a third may stop at the factory door while the others include freight and duty. Materials also vary: laminate versus veneer, and different drawer hardware. List every piece and every exclusion side by side before comparing totals.

Does a case goods quote include freight, duty and installation?

Not always. Some quotes are priced at the factory door (EXW, or ex works), some loaded on the ship at the origin port (FOB), some delivered to site, and some installed. Ask each bidder to state the basis in writing, confirm whether ocean and inland freight are both included, and list duty, brokerage, receiving and installation as separate lines. If a line isn't on the quote, assume you're paying for it separately.

How do tariffs affect hotel furniture prices in 2026?

As of September 2026, US duties have changed more than once this year. The Supreme Court struck down the 2025 IEEPA tariffs on 20 February, and new Section 301 tariffs took effect on 24 July. The rate depends on where the furniture is made. Ask each bidder what duty rate they assumed, for which country of origin and on what date, and confirm with your customs broker.

Is laminate or wood veneer better for hotel case goods?

It depends on the brand tier and how the room is used. Thermally fused laminate is the durable, cost-effective workhorse for most select-service rooms, and high-pressure laminate suits desk and vanity tops that take heavy wear. Wood veneer gives a real timber face and is typically specified as an upgrade for upscale programmes. Your brand standard usually sets the baseline.

Takeaway

A case goods quote is only a number once you know what it includes. Level every bid to the same scope, landed and installed, and the "cheapest" one will tell you whether it really is.

Get a quote you can level

Send your brand, room count and PIP. Your account executive will reach out shortly to build a line-item quote.

Request a Quote

See our case goods

Headboards, night tables, dressers, desks and wardrobes built to your brand's PIP, with a 10-year limited warranty.

View Case Goods

The FF&E Insight

One short email a month

New posts from The FF&E Insight, one product worth knowing, and a heads-up when lead times mean it’s time to order. Written for hotel owners, operators, purchasers and GCs.

  • Only what you sign up for
  • Unsubscribe in one click, any time
  • Never sold or shared

Nerval FF&E, a division of Nerval Corporation · 1001 Buckingham Dr, Sherwood Park, AB T8H 0X5 · info.ffe@nervalcorp.com. We never sell or share your details. Privacy policy.